Salads, Picnics, BBQs

Salads/Picnics/BBQs, Sunday, June 10, 10 a.m. – 1 p.m. Fairfax Station, VA. Main course whole grain and bean salads suitable for pot lucks, picnics, and indoor/outdoor grilling. Past classes have included some of the following:  homemade mayo, Mediterranean Pasta Salad w/ Soy Feta Cheese, Two-Grain Sesame Salad, Quinoa Tabouli, Black Bean Fiesta Salad, Zesty Three-Bean Salad, Chicken-Free Salad, Oil-Free Sweet Bulgar Salad, Teriyaki Kebabs, Marinated Grilled Vegetables, Rice Paper Spring Rolls, Dilled Potato Salad,  Caesar Salad, Cole Slaw, Kim Chee, Sugar-free Organic Lemonade,  salad dressings,  Chocolate Chip Snackin’ Cake.

No meat, poultry, fish, eggs, dairy, or honey. $55/person; $100/two people; $50/VSDC, VRG, COK members. Demonstration classes include recipes, organic food samples, manufacturers’ samples and coupons. Gift certificates available. 

Make checks payable to Mimi Clark, 9302 Hallston Ct., Fairfax Station, VA 22039. Sorry, no phone or email reservations. Seventy-two hour cancellation policy for refund or credit. Class subject to cancellation if minimum enrollment is not met. 

Email veggourmet@aol.com,
or call 703.643.2713 for space availability.

Coming up: Breakfast & Brunch,  July 15

9 responses to “Salads, Picnics, BBQs

  1. Tracy Coppola

    Fantastic class! This was my second class with Mimi Clark and I continue to feel so empowered and inspired during and after! I plan on making the chick’n and spinach salad and the oil free fiesta salad this week, and definitely am going to make the rice paper rolls as well. So thrilled to also learn how to make vegan mayo and many vegan salad dressings that I had long-ago given up! I am sad I can’t make the July class, but I will definitely try to make the one in Aug/Sept!

  2. This class came just in time! We are planning a family picnic for my daugther’s graduation and now I have plenty of healthy, vegan recipes for the day’s celebration. I loved the Mediterranean Pasta Salad, Black Bean Fiesta Salad, veggie rice paper rolls, Spinach salad, and “Chicken” salad. Mimi takes so much time and care into teaching us recipes that are filled with healthful ingredients. Her knowledge about foods and their effects on our bodies is outstanding. I’ve attended many of her classes and learn something new every time. Thank you Mimi!

  3. Loved the class. I enjoyed all the recipes and plan to make the salads for upcoming potlucks. What I like about Mimi’s classes is she teaches you how to cook low fat with little or no oil. I keep going back because there is so much to know about the foods we eat and the impact on our health and Mimi is a real pro. I feel fortunate to have been a student. I recommend her classes for anyone who is wanting to eat healthier. I look forward to future classes..

  4. I recently enrolled in my first class with Mimi, learning about salads. I haven’t been impressed with most vegan restaurants in which I’ve dined, and I was a bit apprehensive about her class. I was pleasantly surprised! I found the food to be delicious and I’m looking forward to preparing many of them at home. You really owe it to yourself to enroll in at least one of her classes; that way you can prove to yourself that you don’t have to sacrifice flavor and texture for healthful dining.

  5. Being an ex junk food and pizza lover and 50 years old and 40 or so pounds over weight, I had to find a way to eat healthier so I don’t have to spend my as they say “Golden years” in bad health. I became a Vegan and with the help of a few good cook books and classes like Mimi’s food is now something I eat to nourish myself with rather then just fill me up. Mimi knows this stuff inside and out. In the first few minutes of her class you will realize that she is not just a teacher, she lives this life style and teaches it passionately. My wife has taken two of her classes and we eat Mimi’s recipes at least once a week. Well worth the money.

  6. The salads/picnics/BBQ class was excellent! I just bought the ingredients to make the vegan mayo, “chicken” salad with grapes, and the fiesta salad. The recipes are packed with flavor but completely do-able. Mimi demonstrated the most important steps in each recipe and covered a lot of ground in the class. I also appreciated the product information and coupons. I will be taking more classes in the future!

    • Update — since the class, I’ve made the vegan mayo, chicken salad, fiesta salad, kim chee, and the strawberry lemonade. Everything was delicious and turned out just like it did in class. I like Mimi’s mayo better than the prepared brands, and the strawberry lemonade has become a staple in my house (I’ve also made it using blueberries, and I’m going to try it with cherries). The fiesta salad was perfect for work lunches. Great recipes!

  7. Outstanding class!!!!…
    I invited my husband to her class and he loved it also.
    No doubt that Mimi makes this transition to vegan much easier with her delicious recipes and her important advice.
    Thanks Mimi!!!!!!

  8. This was my 2nd class with Mimi. I loved this class. With the kabobs, this was the first time I ever had alternative proteins in the same dish -> tofu, seitan and tempeh. It was great to be able to compare and contrast the flavors and textures. Since the class I have made chicken salad with grapes (delicious!), the rice paper spring rolls and the mediterranean pasta salad. My husband loves when I come to class- as I get motivated to create in the kitchen.

Leave a Reply

