Meatless Holidays November 11, 2012

Meatless Holidays, Sunday, November 11, 10 a.m. – 1 p.m. Fairfax Station, VA. Start a new Thanksgiving tradition with all the trimmings! Past menus have included Buttercup Bisque, Pecan-Whipped Yams w/Sweet & Sara Marshmallows, Green Bean Casserole, Cranberry Sauce, Seitan-Stuffed Loaf w/ Sage Dressing, Fat-free Shiitake Mushroom Gravy, Dairy-free Pumpkin Cheesecake, Hot Mulled Cider, Cranberry Orange Sorbet. Sample Beyond Meat, Tofurky, Field Roast,  Harvest Roast, Gardein, and more!

No meat, poultry, fish, eggs, dairy, or honey. $55/person; $100/two people; $50/VSDC, VRG, COK members. Demonstration classes include recipes, organic food samples, manufacturers’ samples and coupons. Gift certificates available.

 Make checks payable to Mimi Clark, 9302 Hallston Ct., Fairfax Station, VA 22039. Sorry, no phone or email reservations. Seventy-two hour cancellation policy for refund or credit. Class subject to cancellation if minimum enrollment is not met.

 Email veggourmet@aol.com,
or call 703.643.2713 for space availability.

Coming up: December 9, Holiday Gifts & Entertaining

9 responses to “Meatless Holidays November 11, 2012

  1. Holiday Vegan style !!! now the menu includes Buttercup Bisque ( to include making extra for the long Virginia winter ) , Mushroom Gravy to use on my Gardein Holiday Roast ( which now will be surrounded with kale and cranberries and the cute yellow squash garnish ! I had purchased a bag of Whole Foods Vegan stuffing but had no idea how to make it special !!
    LOVE all the empowerment you are giving me in my kitchen !
    Thanks so much MIMI for cooking us Thanksgiving dinner !!

  2. Mimi, this was the first of your classes for us as recent vegan converts, but it certainly will not be the last. The information gained and the wonderful food sampled were outstanding. Your hands on presentation style really makes the class interesting. Keep up this good work.
    Ken & Myrtle

  3. I felt slightly guilty about not (yet) putting Mimi’s vast knowledge and excellent teaching to use from her Meatless Makeovers class – so I went ahead and made the Buttercup Bisque from this class! It turned out well and it’s easy to make! Quick photos of me making it can be seen here (nothing too fancy) :
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/89959745@N03/sets/72157631986370795/

    Thanks Mimi for an amazing class!

  4. Tracy and Patrick

    Another amazing class–very thankful for it, especially since I am spending Thanksgiving with many carnivores and would love to have them try a humane, healthy and much more delicious approach….We are making them buttercup bisque, mulled cider and the green beans with mushroom gravy for sure! I am going to test it out this weekend as a trial run and am really looking forward to it. We are also very excited to make the roast and the stuffing. We will be back for more and will continue to spread the word about this great class!

  5. Colleen M. Busher

    I really enjoyed this class. The bisque, tofu roast, and side dishes were all great. I particularly loved the pumpkin cheese pie as I haven’t made many vegan desserts yet, and this one was quick to prepare and really delicious. As always, I learn so much at each class, and Mimi’s enthusiasm makes each session lots of fun. By the way, the little squash bird was adorable! Happy Thanksgiving to All

  6. Mimi is genuine, approachable and knowledgeable. I am relatively new to the vegan world and I learned easy and delicious recipes that I will use for Thanksgiving (and beyond). For Thanksgiving I plan to make the yams, the green bean casserole, and the dairy free pumpkin cheese cake. YUM!!
    I also liked that she provided samples of vegan options in the market. I had never tasted the fake chicken, I now have a whole new range of options to choose from.

  7. I have taken several classes with Mimi. I echo many of the comments above and will say that I appreciate the tips about making Thanksgiving Dinner – especially what you can make ahead of time. Over the weekend I made our T’givng Day Menu – and will prep/cook some today, tomorrow and Wednesday – so that I can enjoy the day! I am going to make the mulled cider, green been casserole (subst cranberries for the mushrooms, ha), and pumpkin cheese pie.

  8. This was the third class with Mimi. This class sure did get me thinking about what I was going to make that was vegan for Thanksgiving. I made the Bisque, pumpkin hummus, and stuffing. We also got to try different meat substitutes: Beyond Meat, Tofurky, Field Roast, Harvest Roast, Gardein, and lots more! Give me so many more options. I use the Field Roast in my chili and soups. Love it. Thanks Mimi – see you again in January 2013!!

  9. This was my first class with Mimi and it was a wonderful experience. I am fairly new to Vegan living and found Mimi to be full of knowledge that I just wanted the class to go on and on. She not only shares her recipes and samples during class, she demonstrates the recipes and provides detailed information about all the ingredients she uses, such as where to find them. I did not host Thanksgiving this year, but used many of her recipes for hosting Christmas dinner and they turned out wonderfully! Thanks Mimi!

Leave a Reply

