Holiday Gifts & Entertaining, December 9

Sunday, December 9, 10 a.m. – 1 p.m. Fairfax Station, VA. Move Over Martha! Learn to make heartfelt, vegan gifts and party fare from your kitchen. Past classes have included some of the following: Hot Artichoke Spread, Cranberry Nut Bread, Molded Holiday Cookies, Gingerbread People, Rugelach (pictured), Cranberry Cheesecake, Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups, Nut Brittle, Peppermint Patties, Assorted Nuts & Seeds, Herb- and Spice-Infused Oils & Vinegars, Sparkling Fruit Punch.

 
No meat, poultry, fish, eggs, dairy, or honey. $55/person; $100/two people; $50/VSDC, VRG, COK members. Demonstration classes include recipes, organic food samples, manufacturers’ samples and coupons. Gift certificates available.

Make checks payable to Mimi Clark, 9302 Hallston Ct., Fairfax Station, VA 22039. Sorry, no phone or email reservations. Seventy-two hour cancellation policy for refund or credit. Class subject to cancellation if minimum enrollment is not met. 

Email veggourmet@aol.com,
or call 703.643.2713 for space availability. Check website for monthly class updates: www.veggourmet.wordpress.com 

 Coming up: Soups & Stews, January 13, 2013

5 responses to “Holiday Gifts & Entertaining, December 9

  1. Another great class! We covered a lot of ground, with all kinds of holiday gift and entertaining ideas. The artichoke dip will be a mainstay at my gatherings! I also appreciated the vegan candies, which I hadn’t attempted in the past. The peanut butter cups are fantastic. Thanks, Mimi!

  2. I recently attended Mimi’s holiday baking and entertaining class and it was delightful! We covered peanut butter cups and dark chocolate peppermint patties, along with candied nuts, nut brittle, vegan sugar cookies, gingerbread, and much more! She also had many clever ideas for home baked gift presentation and centerpieces. It was a lot of fun!

  3. This is the 3rd or 4th class of Mimi’s that I’ve taken; I pretty much decided after the 1st one that I would take them all, and I haven’t been disappointed yet! The peanut butter cups are fantastic, and she went over many innovative ways to present and package the various candies, oils, etc., that she makes. The way the class is structured, sometimes you get to taste things at various stages or with slightly different ingredients. For example, Mimi made the artichoke dip, and we tasted it cold and then hot (after baking a bit). Both were good, but tasted surprisingly different. Her classes are very interactive, and she almost ALWAYS know the answers to questions you ask about vegan ingredients and cooking. I plan to continue taking each class (one/month) and will probably repeat them when they come around again. Books are great, but there’s nothing like having Mimi as a personal vegan resource!

  4. I had such a great time at my first class with Mimi in November for Meatless Holidays, that I had to return for this Holiday class in December! Mimi provided MANY wonderful recipes. I used several as gifts, with my favorite one being her nut brittle. I have always been afraid of attempting to make candy due to not knowing enough about the process. Having Mimi walk us through the recipes and understanding why she uses certain ingredients makes all the difference in my confidence for trying her recipes. I was very proud of myself when my first batch of peanut brittle turned out wonderful! It was my favorite gift to give this year! I have signed up for her next two classes and I’m looking forward to many more!

  5. Oh the artichoke dip is fantastic. My un-veg Mom really loved it. I made the tamari almonds for my boss for Christmas. He asked me last week where I bought them and I told him I made them. He offered to buy more from me. Today I purchased more almonds for him. Hey job security :-)

Leave a Reply

