Soups & Stews January 13, or January 20, 2013

IMG_1043Soups & Stews, Sunday, January 13 (wait list only), or January 20, 2013, 10 a.m. – 1 p.m. Fairfax Station, VA. Start the new year with hearty, winter-warming one pot meals. Learn to make vegan soup stock and from there, build heart-healthy one-pot meals such as Chicken Noodle Soup (featuring Beyond Meat), Minestrone Soup, Lentil Barley Soup, Creamy White Bean Soup with Wasabi Pesto, Black Bean Chili, Potato Leek Soup, Herbed White Bean Cassoulet, North African Stew, Paella, Black Bean Fejoda, Beef-style Stew, Vegetable Melange, Goulash, Seitan Bourgiugnonne, Hoppin’ John, Moong Dal, Pasta Fagioli, and cornbread.

No meat, poultry, fish, eggs, dairy, or honey. $55/person; $100/two people; $50/VSDC, VRG, COK members. Demonstration classes include recipes, organic food samples, manufacturers’ samples and coupons. Gift certificates available.

Make checks payable to Mimi Clark, 9302 Hallston Ct., Fairfax Station, VA 22039. Sorry, no phone or email reservations. Seventy-two hour cancellation policy for refund or credit. Class subject to cancellation if minimum enrollment is not met. 

Email veggourmet@aol.com,
or call 703.643.2713 for space availability. Check website for monthly class updates: www.veggourmet.wordpress.com 

 Coming up: Comfort Foods, February 10

7 responses to “Soups & Stews January 13, or January 20, 2013

  1. Alexandra Bender

    Thanks for a great class! I just drank my greens :)

  2. Enjoyed the class and all of the delicious goodies I bought! I like the Greens+ powder, and the Alter Eco chocolate quinoa bar was gone within a few hours after returning home from class :) I’m planning to make the lentil barley soup for dinner tonight.

  3. I enjoyed the class as well. Mimi was a gracious teacher and host, and she was very willing to answer my newbie questions. All of the dishes were excellent and will be on my menu. I went shopping right after class and tonight I will make the North African stew! Later this week I will also make the lentil soup (once I can find the barley, the local Giant did not have it).

  4. A very good class. I’m really looking forward to making the cassoulet and cornbread. The flavor of the cassoulet was incredible and who doesn’t like good cornbread? :-)

  5. I made the Chuckwagon stew. Really good, the whole family enjoyed it. I put it over some rice to make it more filling. I also made mine in the crockpot. Turn it up to high on the last 20 minutes and then start gradually adding the thickener, give a minute between dribbles. The taste of the sauce reminds me of sloppy joes so it added something else I can do with it.

  6. A great class – yet again! My top 3 were Lentil Barley Soup, White Bean Cassoulet and Chuckwagon stew. I will target two recipes per week and try to do them all! Its getting cold out – so why not? The cornbread of course will go with the chili.

  7. As an update, I also made the North African Stew. Excellent, and the cinnamon was a different flavor than I am used to in a main course. I used butternut squash and I also added red quinoa right to the pot instead of preparing it separately. Definitely on the “gonna make it again” list! Thanks Mimi!

Leave a Reply

