Sushi & International Cuisine, Sunday, March 24 (waiting list), or April 28

pot stickers, candles 001Sunday, March 24 (waiting list), April 28, 10 a.m. – 1 p.m. Fairfax Station, VA.  Learn the cuisine of other cultures without leaving home. Past classes have included some of the following: Sushi, Wasabi, Chana Masala, Aloo Gobi, Basmati Rice, Saag, Chapati Bread, Moong Dal, Coriander Chutney, Potstickers (pictured), Sweet & Sour Meatballs, Pesto Pizza, Baked Ziti, Lasagne, Baked Spring Rolls, Hunan-Style Orange Beef, Chicken & Broccoli with Black Bean Sauce, General Tso’s Chicken, Seitan Bourgiugnonne, Paella, Stuffed Cabbage, Seitan Stroganoff, Pad Thai, Pho.

No meat, poultry, fish, eggs, dairy, or honey. $55/person; $100/two people; $50/VSDC, VRG, and COK members. Demonstration classes include recipes, organic food samples, manufacturers’ samples and coupons. Gift certificates available.

Make checks payable to Mimi Clark, 9302 Hallston Ct., Fairfax Station, VA 22039. Sorry, no phone or email reservations. Seventy-two hour cancellation policy for refund or credit. Class subject to cancellation if minimum enrollment is not met. 

Email veggourmet@aol.com,
or call 703.643.2713 for space availability.

Coming April 14: Soyfoods 101

5 responses to “Sushi & International Cuisine, Sunday, March 24 (waiting list), or April 28

  1. thank-you Mimi for a fabulous International class !! Aloo Sag was so delicious and I definitely want to try the variation with Paneer ( tofu ) my husband will greatly appreciate the Hunan-Style Orange Beef & Broccoli. ( the spicier , the better ) and I’ve already eaten my Sara’s marshmallow treat with a cup of tea, of course !! checking my calendar so I can cook with you again soon ! Thank you again !

  2. Mimi, your class was really great and I loved all the recipes.
    On the way home from class I stopped at the store so I could make the Hunan Orange Beef and Broccoli. My husband and I both agreed It was fabulous! My 6 year old wouldn’t even look at it but he has no taste.
    I don’t know if you take requests but I would definitely sign up for a class on vegan kid friendly recipes.
    I look forward to my next class.
    Lisa

  3. This was by far one of the best classes yet! Loved all the well spiced dishes and will make ALL of them! Already planning this weeks menu around the new recipes! A real gem in your class lineup!

  4. Your class was just what I’ve been looking for. We learned about several variations of sushi, types of rice to use and how to cook it, how to cook the vegatables, assembing sushi, method for rolling the ingredients within the sushi nori seaweed sheets using a bamboo sushi mat and finally slicing the roll into sections using a very sharp, hot, wet knife. Mimi made the preparation so simple and the results were delicious. Among the other dishes we learned about included baked spring rolls, Hunan-style orange “beef” (seitan), and my favorites: chana masala (spiced chick peas) and aloo sag (potatoes and spinach). We got to eat samples of all the dishes Mimi cooked, which were really enjoyable. I learned a lot and hope to attend more of her classes.

  5. Robin Thompson

    I really enjoyed the recent Sushi and International Class. It was a great opportunity to learn new techniques and recipes and to try new products. I adore Indian food, and I was delighted to learn a very quick and easy way to prepare two of my favorite Indian dishes – chana masala and aloo sag. I’ve already made the Hunan Style Orange “Beef” and Broccoli. In fact, I tried the recipe a second time using Trader Joe’s chicken-less strips in place of the beef-less strips, with equally tasty results. Both versions passed the Chinese food leftover test, i.e. they’re great eaten right out of the refrigerator while standing up in the kitchen the following morning. I’m looking forward to more of Mimi’s classes!

Leave a Reply

