Beans & Grains

Beans & Grains, Sunday, September 26, 10 a.m. – 1 p.m.  Fairfax Station, VA. Learn to cook with ancient “new” grains, and lesser-known beans. Past classes have included some of the following: Lentil Walnut Pate, Black Bean Hummus, Herbed White Bean Pate, White Bean & Kale Soup, Azuki Bean Patties w/ Szechwan Sauce, Cumin-Scented Orange Black Beans, Creamy Millet Mash, Spelt/Kamut Combo, Quinoa Tabouli, Two-Grain Sesame Salad, Black Bean Brownies, Blueberry Amaranth Cake.

No meat, poultry, fish, eggs, dairy, or honey. $50/person; $90/two people; $45/VSDC, VRG, COK members. Demonstration classes include recipes, organic food samples, manufacturers’ samples and coupons. Gift certificates available.

 Make checks payable to Mimi Clark, 9302 Hallston Ct., Fairfax Station, VA 22039. Sorry, no phone or email reservations. Seventy-two hour cancellation policy for refund or credit. Class subject to cancellation if minimum enrollment is not met.

 Email veggourmet@aol.com,
or call 703.643.2713 for space availability.

Coming up November 14: Meatless Holidays (see Mimi’s 2009 class on YouTube)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uqZcT-6b3Ns&feature=player_embedded

5 responses to “Beans & Grains

  1. Mimi, a great workshop on Beans and Grains, chock-full of helpful information, great recipes, wonderful samples. You covered so much in 3 hours, thanks to great organization and pre-planning. As someone who recently decided to eat vegan, your workshop gave me more ideas, resources, and encouragement to continue. I will definitely try most of the recipes and also continue encouraging my friends to try out this health-focused eating style. Thanks for your energy, enthusiasm, and generosity.

  2. Cindy Southerland

    Great first time Vegan cooking class with Mimi Clark and it was WONDERFUL!!!! Already signed up for the next class and plan on attending each month.

  3. I really enjoyed your Grains and Beans class. I love that I always leave with new information, coupons and a fully belly! The food samples were great and the recipes are fantastic. I am really looking forward to making the Molten Lava Black Bean Brownies!

  4. Mimi – This is your best class yet. Lots of good information, especially for those who are seriously considering changing to a vegetarian/vegan diet like my friend who attended with me. (I figured if I just brought her to the class, you could explain things better than I could!) I really enjoyed the Lentil Walnut Pate, and I’m looking forward to making the Bean and Grain Chili and the Molten Lava Black Bean Brownies — great cold weather comfort food once fall really kicks in.

  5. Beans and Grains is my favorite class to date. This class provided me with new staple recipes that I will likely continue to use year after year. This past week I made Chili with Bulgur and Mixed Grain Combo, Creamy Millet Mash, and Two-Grain Sesame Salad. Creamy Millet Mash is a great alternative to mashed potatoes, and leftovers become a new meal in a whole grain wrap with other veggies and/or beans. Two-grain sesame salad is great as a side or main dish, and is a great meal to make ahead and take to a gathering. I doubled this recipe and still had to make it twice this week by demand. Two-grain Sesame Salad is a new personal and family favorite.

    I am looking forward to trying the dessert recipes. The Molten Lava Black Bean Brownies were moist and delicious!

Leave a Reply

