Meatless Makeovers

Meatless Makeovers, Sunday, October 16, 10 a.m. – 1 p.m. Fairfax Station, VA.

Transform traditional family favorite dishes into healthier meals. Past classes have included some of the following: Beef Stroganoff, Goulash, Pepper Steak, Sweet & Sour Meatballs, Chicken a la King, Chicken Divan, Chicken Parmesan, Chicken Scaloppini, Baked Ziti with Tofu Ricotta Cheese, Stuffed Shells, Shepherd’s Pie, Paella, Sloppy Joe, Meat Loaf, Chocolate Mousse, Chocolate Chip Cake, Cheesecake. Participants are encouraged to bring a favorite family recipe to discuss in class.

Pressing tofu will be demonstrated with the convenient  TofuXpress  available for purchase.

No meat, poultry, fish, eggs, dairy, or honey. $55/person; $100/two people; $50/VSDC, VRG, COK members. Demonstration classes include recipes, organic food samples, manufacturers’ samples and coupons. Gift certificates available.

Make checks payable to Mimi Clark, 9302 Hallston Ct., Fairfax Station, VA 22039. Sorry, no phone or email reservations. Seventy-two hour cancellation policy for refund or credit. Class subject to cancellation if minimum enrollment is not met.

Email veggourmet@aol.com,
or call 703.643.2713 for space availability.

Coming up November 6: Meatless Holidays (see Mimi’s 2009 class on YouTube) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uqZcT-6b3Ns&feature=player_embedded

December 11: Holiday Gifts & Entertaining

7 responses to “Meatless Makeovers

  1. I can hardly believe it has been a year since I started taking Mimi’s cooking classes. I have taken eleven out of the twelve classes she has offered this year. I will definitely make all of the meatless makeover recipes she made for us today. I plan to make the ‘chick’n parmesan tomorrow. I always find it helpful to see the variety of vegan products available and what can be done with them. During the classes, I can see every step and taste the final results. Throughout the year, I have been inspired to be more creative in the kitchen. I can confidently prepare a variety of delicious and healthy vegan meals.

    Whether you are new or have experience with preparing vegan meals, these classes have something for everyone. Thanks Mimi for a year of great food and friendship.

    • It was nice meeting you in class Bevery and I look forward to seeing you in the January or February class. I’m really looking forward to the sushi and sea vegetable class!

  2. Got some GREAT recipes from this class! I made the Shepherd’s Pie last night – it was DELICIOUS! Can’t wait til lunch for the leftovers! I wanted to make the Sweet & Sour Meatballs, but was all out of Tamari, so I went to Plan B, the Chick’n Parmesan, but was all out of Parma. Running to MOMs today to get both, and cooking both tonight, so it will be an easy dinner night tomorrow. Can’t wait to try both out on my family!

    Also picking up some Sweet-n-Sara’s marshmallows and graham crackers to make s’mores this weekend on our annual fall camping trip. The samples we had yesterday were AMAZING!!

    Thanks Mimi for another great class and more fabulous, easy recipes to add to my cache.

    Looking forward to Holiday Meatless Makeovers in November!

    Cheryl

  3. I took the meatless meals class this past weekend. This is my 4th class with Mimi. My challenge is that my family consists of one vegan, 2 vegetarian- struggling vegans, and 2 meat eaters. Try cooking for this crowd. Last night I made the chicken parmesan and tonight the shepards pie. They were a hit even with the hardcore meat eaters. Wow- I am so excited that I can cook healthy food that everyone loves- Thanks Mimi- I am so excited about this. As always I loved the class.
    —————

  4. What a wonderful class!! I truly enjoyed myself and am already planning to attend another one. Mimi is incredibly knowledgeable about vegan cooking and demonstrates all of her recipes clearly and in a step by step manner that is easy to follow. As someone who is looking to start going in a vegetarian direction, I appreciated this first insight into cooking with plant-based foods and various meat alternatives. All of the food was delicious, the samples are a great opportunity to try different vegetarian and vegan foods on the market-I’m looking forward to making some of the recipes on my own soon. Thank you Mimi! Looking forward to the next one

  5. FABULOUS CLASS! I am just starting to transition to veganism after being a vegetarian for a while and this class was perfect! Mimi introduced us to a number of products and then walked us through a host of delicious recipes, all of which I plan to try out in my own kitchen! Mimi was funny, informative, and open to any and all questions, The small class size and the locale of her very own kitchen made the demonstrations both effective and informal. I look forward to the next class!

  6. I have now attended 3 of Mimi’s classes. Beans and Grains was an awesome class. I make everything that was demonstrated that day. I love them all. Next was the Meatless Makeovers class. The Sweet and Sour Meatball recipe everyone loves. I don’t even bother to let them know that the meatballs were MEATLESS!!
    Thank you Mimi for all of your help and instructions.

Leave a Reply

