Holiday Gifts & Entertaining

Sunday, December 11, 10 a.m. – 1 p.m. Fairfax Station, VA. Move Over Martha! Learn to make heartfelt, vegan gifts and party fare from your kitchen. Past classes have included some of the following: Hot Artichoke Spread, Cranberry Nut Bread, Molded Holiday Cookies, Gingerbread People, Rugelach, Cranberry Cheesecake, Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups, Nut Brittle, Peppermint Patties, Assorted Nuts & Seeds, Herb- and Spice-Infused Oils & Vinegars, Sparkling Fruit Punch.

No meat, poultry, fish, eggs, dairy, or honey. $55/person; $100/two people; $50/VSDC, VRG, COK members. Demonstration classes include recipes, organic food samples, manufacturers’ samples and coupons. Gift certificates available.

Make checks payable to Mimi Clark, 9302 Hallston Ct., Fairfax Station, VA 22039. Sorry, no phone or email reservations. Seventy-two hour cancellation policy for refund or credit. Class subject to cancellation if minimum enrollment is not met. 

Email veggourmet@aol.com,
or call 703.643.2713 for space availability.

Coming up: Soups & Stews, January 8, 2012

6 responses to “Holiday Gifts & Entertaining

  1. What a fun experience! Mimi really knows what she’s doing and gives lots of fun handouts afterwards! Very rewarding experience. Thanks, Mimi!

  2. What a great class! It was my 2nd time attending Mimi’s classes and was well-paced and full of great recipes just like the last one (I attended Meatless Makeovers in October). I like to bake, and was happy to hear of healthier alternatives to making cookies, candies, punch, and bread, as well as ideas for gifts from the kitchen. I’m definitely planning on making the peppermint patties as a both a gift and as something to bring to a cookie exchange, and will be making the dark chocolate peanut butter cups for fun 🙂 I ordered Suzanne’s brown rice syrup online to use in the recipes-the patties and peanut butter cups were, in my opinion, better than what you can buy in the store and not too hard to make. The hot artichoke spread make with tofu was excellent and I would certainly make that again. I’m looking forward to attending more classes and as always, appreciate the information on organic foods-Mimi’s knowledge is impressive and her teaching style is both informative and interesting-thanks Mimi!

  3. Mimi, thank you for yet another terrific class! I have attended about 8 of your classes and this is one of my favorites. The holiday gifts that we sampled were delicious – the dark chocolate peanut butter cups, the peppermint patties, the peanut brittle, the shortbread and zippy gingerbread cookies and the marshmallow fudge were all scrumptious! I am going to make the peppermint patties and spiced nuts as holiday gifts for my children’s teachers (they look so fast and easy to make) and over the break I’ll make the cookies and gingerbread with my kids. It’s wonderful to be able to make, share and enjoy all of our holiday favorites in a cruelty-free, healthier way. Thank you!

  4. Mimi’s holiday gifts and entertaining class was great! I learned so much about vegan food products to try and easy substitutions in recipes- by taste testing everything, of course! I can’t wait to impress family and friends with the Hot Artichoke Dip and the Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter cups- they’ll never believe it’s all vegan! Mimi has such a cheerful attitude and is eager to answer questions, making her class a very fun and educational experience. I definitely plan to go to more.

    Thank you, Mimi!

  5. All I can say is THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU for showing me how to make vegan peanut butter cups. Your recipe was delicious, your method simple, and the result was stunning. I can’t wait to make them and enjoy one of my favorite treats again. The marshmallow fudge was a miracle! Can’t wait until next month. As always, thanks so much Mimi for making vegan cooking fun, easy, and delicious!

  6. I am a Sun City-Hilton Head, S.C. retiree who was on an 18-day east coast road trip when I decided to attend Mimi’s 12/11/11 cooking class on Holiday Gifts and Entertaining that was publicized in the online Vegetarian Resource Newsletter.

    I have attended other vegan cooking classes across the U.S. for the past 20 years so was looking forward to attending one of Mimi’s classes for the first time especially since my vegan holiday entertaining skills are pretty limited. I was interested to know what vegan goodies Mimi’s class would offer….and I’m a sweetaholic who doesn’t turn down homemade vegan desserts!

    I must say Mimi offered one of the BEST vegan cooking classes I have attended. And, to my surprise, the class was not only a treat to indulge in but as a great vegan cook myself, I learned so much.

    After a short time in Mimi’s class, I did not hesitate to tell her she is the “Martha Stewart of Vegan Cooking!” She is thorough in giving instructions and guidance on her recipes and offers so many suggestions and options. With all of the great tastings, samples and generous coupons Mimi provided, I felt as though I was in a state-of-the art health food store instead of sitting in Mimi’s beautiful kitchen. The class was a comfortable setting and I really enjoyed being in the company of other conscious eating people.

    Immediately after the class, I didn’t waste any time going to the Springfield, Virginia Whole Foods Store to stock up on Mimi’s recipe suggestions and use some of the generous manufacturer coupons she provided. I travel with a big cooler so it was no problem keeping my vegan perishables properly stored during the last leg of my road trip.

    I’m back home now in South Carolina and can’t wait to prepare the yummy hot artichoke spread and peppermint patties as my initial kitchen adventures in honor of phenomenal vegan chef Mimi.

    I will definitely plan to attend Mimi’s future classes when I visit the east coast again. It was well worth the cost and my valuable “Vacation Away From a Busy Retirement” time.

    Thanks so much, Mimi, for such a delightful, educational, and tasty class on Sunday, December 11, 2011. I am a much smarter “veganist” thanks to you.

    Wishing you a Happy & Healthful New Year! 🙂 Carrie from South Carolina

Leave a Reply

