Comfort Foods

                                                                                                          

Comfort Foods, Sunday, February 12, 10 a.m. – 1 p.m. Fairfax Station, VA Put a healthy slant on foods that satisfy and de-stress.  Recipes will include some of  the  following: Nachos, Meatloaf/gravy, Shepherd’s Pie, Goulash, Yam Fries, Polenta Fries, Corn Dogs, Hush Puppies, Mac & Cheese, Roasted Vegetable Pizza, Chicken-free Soup, Winter Greens w/ Cashew Cream, Grilled Cheese Sandwiches, Nutty Noodles, Baked Ziti, Onion Rings, Homemade Ice Cream , Chocolate Chip Cookies, Chocolate Pudding.

No meat, poultry, fish, eggs, dairy, or honey. $55/person; $100/two people; $50/VSDC, VRG, COK members. Demonstration classes include recipes, organic food samples, manufacturers’ samples and coupons. Gift certificates available.

Make checks payable to Mimi Clark, 9302 Hallston Ct., Fairfax Station, VA 22039. Sorry, no phone or email reservations. Seventy-two hour cancellation policy for refund or credit. Class subject to cancellation if minimum enrollment is not met. 

Email veggourmet@aol.com,
or call 703.643.2713 for space availability.

Coming up: Sushi & International Cuisine, March 18

10 responses to “Comfort Foods

  1. Went to Mimi’s class today and it was very well presented. Loved the Chicken noodle soup and meatloaf recipes!

  2. I took the Comfort Foods class today. Once again I learned so many things about cooking. The soup, meatloaf and Mac & cheese were great. I did love the pizza dough and pesto too. I am excited to make the pizza dough because everytime I plan to purchase premade dough and I read the label I put it back. I can’t pronounce the ingredients. . I have been taking my daughters to Mimi’s class and I am thrilled that they will be able to cook healthy meals. Mimi, thank you for having these classes and always being so welcoming to all. I look forward to the class in March. OMG- the chocolate mousse – it was amazing.

  3. Today’s mac and cheese recipe is really remarkable– you can tell when a recipe has been fine tuned and this one has been. After the class I went home and made the meatloaf– it quick and easy. Today’s recipes were all nostalgia food for me, reminiscent of what mom would have cooked and she wasn’t vegetarian.

  4. Soooo much fun! I took the Comfort Foods class today. Loved all the samples and coupons. I made the meatloaf tonight. Very quick and easy. Actually turned it into a meatloaf sandwich. Plan to make the Mac & Cheese soon. Yum 🙂

  5. Attended the Comfort Foods class yesterday (my first class with Mimi) and had a wonderful time! Learned a wealth of information in the class and tasted a number of great dishes and vegan product samples. I stopped at Roots on the way home, picked up some ingredients, and made the “Chicken-Free Noodle Soup” for dinner; it was fantastic. I’m looking forward to taking my next class!

  6. Attended my first class with Mimi and what a great start with Comfort Foods! Not only did I learn amazing recipes, taste fabulous dishes and get access to really helpful resources, I also met wonderful people in various stages of their vegan journey who were also very helpful in sharing their tips and tricks. I stopped at Wegmans on the way home and got recipes for the Pizza which I plan to make today. Can’t wait until my next class!

  7. I attended my first vegan class with Mimi and enjoyed every moment of it. I learned a lot and actually tasted a lot of things that I wouldn’t have otherwise. I was also impressed to see the kids in the class learning at such an early age. I look forward to the next time.

  8. This was my second class with Mimi, and I continue to enjoy learning new vegan recipes. The “chicken” noddle soup and pizza were particularly delicious.

  9. Loved the comfort food cooking class. I made the mac and cheese, it was great!!

  10. Let me start by saying that I am NOT a fan of cooking! I recently decided to follow a vegan diet for Lent and knew that I needed help, so I decided to take Mimi’s vegan cooking class. And I sure am glad I did! The class was great! Mimi expertly prepared pizza, “chicken” soup, and other delicious comfort foods and provided us with numerous recipes. In addition, Mimi had tons of food samples and coupons. Mimi is a great teacher and very patient. I highly recommend taking one…heck take ALL of her classes!! Hope to see you there!

Leave a Reply

