Beans & Grains, Sunday, September 28

mujadara 006

Beans & Grains, Sunday, September 28, 10 a.m. – 1 p.m. Fairfax Station, VA. Learn to cook with ancient supergrains, and lesser-known beans. Past classes have included some of the following: Mujadara (pictured), Lentil Walnut Pate, Falafel, Black Bean Hummus, Herbed White Bean Pate, White Bean & Kale Soup, Teff Polenta, Azuki Bean Patties w/ Szechwan Sauce, Cumin-Scented Orange Black Beans, Creamy Millet Mash, Spelt/Kamut/Barley Combo, Buckwheat Tabouli, Quinoa & Wheatberry Salad, Black Bean Brownies, Blueberry Amaranth Cake, GF Granola.

No meat, poultry, fish, eggs, dairy, or honey. $55/person; $100/two people; $50/VSDC, VRG, COK members. Demonstration classes include recipes, organic, non-gmo food samples, manufacturers’ samples and coupons. Gift certificates available.

Email veggourmet@aol.com, or call 703.643.2713 for space availability prior to sending payment. Make checks payable to Mimi Clark, 9302 Hallston Ct., Fairfax Station, VA 22039. Sorry, no phone or email reservations. Seventy-two hour cancellation policy for refund or credit. Class subject to cancellation if minimum enrollment is not met.

Coming up: Meatless Makeovers, October 19

 

5 responses to “Beans & Grains, Sunday, September 28

  1. My husband and I attended Mimi’s beans and grains class today. It was very informative and we found all of the recipes easy to follow and very delicious!! I would highly recommend this course to anyone looking to improve their dietary health. You do not have to be vegan to enjoy vegan cooking!!

  2. In her class, Mimi presents new cooking techniques as well as the health benefits of the plant-based ingredients she uses, all while cooking up incredible main dishes and desserts, which are for sampling. We walked away with an armful of manufacturers’ samples and her own set of printed material on beans and grains. Mimi provides a thoroughly enjoyable experience for anyone who wants to learn more about healthful cooking. The aromas and flavors will delight your senses!

  3. Bob in Arlington, VA

    I got a lot out of the Grains and Beans class last Sunday. I plan to make your slider recipe. Two days ago, I made the sugar snap peas and ginger recipe from the Candle 79 book that I took home with me. It was great. Hopefully you’ll have a space for me in the Meatless Makeover class on Sunday, October 19th. An email request will be on its way to you shortly.

  4. I attended my first class with Mimi on Sunday and want to let folks know how good it was. I learned a lot, and plan to come back again. I can’t wait to try some of the recipes! I highly recommend this class to anyone. I became a vegan 28 years ago and wish I had known about her earlier. It would have saved me from a lot of sad meals.

  5. Before Mimi’s Beans & Grains class, I was not really interested in beans as I did not know many recipes to cook with beans. However, after participating in her class, I have changed my mind about beans. I never thought that many beans taste so good like that. Mimi provides us various types of bean and grain information. She teaches us many recipes to cook with beans and grains. Her foods have great smell in the whole class that make me hungry. I’m glad that we can try the food right after she cooks. They are all yummy. Mimi’s recipes are very easy to follow so that I will cook beans more often from now on.

Leave a Reply

