Breakfast & Brunch, Sunday, August 9, 2015

032

Breakfast & Brunch, Sunday August 9, 10 a.m.-1 p.m. Fairfax Station, VA Start your day the healthy way. Past classes have included some of the following: Eggless Omelet (pictured above, featured in The Vegg cookbook), Eggless Benedict, French Toast, Whole Grain Waffles & Pancakes, Quiche, Crepes, Hash Brown Casserole, Polenta Fries, Overnight Oatmeal, Homemade Granola, Sticky Buns, Muffins, Scones, Smoothies, plus a variety of organic cereals and dairy-free milks.

No meat, poultry, fish, eggs, dairy, or honey. $55/person; $100/two people; $50/VSDC, VRG, COK members. Demonstration classes include recipes, organic, non-gmo food samples, manufacturers’ samples and coupons. Gift certificates available.

Email veggourmet@aol.com, or call 703.643.2713 for space availability prior to sending payment. Make check payable to Mimi Clark, 9302 Hallston Ct., Fairfax Station, VA 22039. Sorry, no phone or email reservations. Seventy-two hour cancellation policy for refund or credit. Class subject to cancellation if minimum enrollment is not met.

Coming in September: Beans & Grains

9 responses to “Breakfast & Brunch, Sunday, August 9, 2015

  1. Since being vegan, breakfast has been the meal I’ve needed the most cooking help with. This class was a great balance between some more difficult recipes and some super quick and easy ones, and I learned so much in such a short time! Love Mimi’s classes! Will be working on perfecting my omelet…

  2. This was my second class with Mimi, and once again it was a great experience learning new ideas and ways to have a healthy, plant based diet. My favorite dish was the hash brown casserole. Was quite impressed that the “chorizo” tasted much like its meat alternative, but is actually a healthier and more filling protein option. A class like this is particularly helpful for those considering eliminating and/or reducing their meat consumption. Along with the chorizo Mimi gave us several bacon and eggless options for baking and cooking that were really good as well. Of course there was delicious granola and muffins for those who like a sweeter morning too, but without the refined, heavy sugar. 🙂

  3. This was my third class, and like the others, it was excellent! I always learn a lot when I take one of Mimi’s classes. They are not only fun but are very educational. The Hash Brown/Sausage Casserole, Blueberry Muffins, and Fully-Loaded Granola were all delicious. I hope to attempt them all. However, it is the Veggie Omelet that I think I will try to master first. It looked and tasted great!

  4. Lydia McCaskill

    Mimi’s classes are always well thought out and informative. I absolutely loved the Eggless Benedict & Hash Brown Casserole! (really, everything!!!) Having never attempted at making my own granola, I now have plans on trying my hand at several varieties.

    The recipes are easily tweakable and I look forward to experimenting with them, as well as attending her next class!!!

  5. Melanie McIntyre

    This was my 1st class and I loved it! I’ve been a vegetarian my whole life but never really invested the time to learn how to cook healthy vegetarian/vegan meals. I learned a lot of new techniques as well as about some new products, some of which I’ve already purchased. I’m looking forward to the next class and possibly even some private instruction w/ Mimi!

  6. The class was great! Enjoyed every thing. My daughter loved the cheese, which was a great surprise. She is even willing to come to the next class. I’m so looking forward to the next class. My favorite dish was the Eggless Benedict. So, looking forward to making it.

  7. I learned so many recipes in the Breakfast & Brunch class. Normally, I don’t know what to eat for my breakfast. Now I have various types of breakfast recipes to cook in the morning. My favorite dishes were the Veggie Omelet, Hash Brown/ Chorizo Casserole, Polenta Fries, and Blueberry Muffins. They all tasted so good! The Veggie Omelet was flavorful and eye-catching with different fillings like mushrooms, bell peppers, vegan bacon, and onions. The Polenta Fries were very yummy with a soft texture inside and crispy outside. I can’t wait to go to NYC and try them at the Candle restaurant! And they tasted great with Mimi’s Chipotle Mayo! The Blueberry Muffins were tender, moist, and not overly sweet. I will definitely be attending future classes!

  8. The Hash Brown/Sausage casserole was delish and so easy. You could also use it for a quick dinner. The polenta fries would be a hit in any family. Something different and more upscale than the normal fry. I loved the texture of them.

  9. I love, love, LOVE this class. The polenta fries were nice and crispy on the outside and creamy in the middle. I love polenta and make it frequently, and this is (and has been) an awesome recipe to add to my repertoire. Mimi’s classes are very informative and a great way to try new vegan items and recipes.

Leave a Reply

