Beans & Grains, Sunday, September 27, 2015

IMG_0776

Beans & Grains, Sunday, September 27, 10 a.m. – 1 p.m. Fairfax Station, VA. Learn to cook with ancient supergrains, and lesser-known beans. Past classes have included some of the following: Lentil Walnut Pate, Falafel, Black Bean Hummus, Herbed White Bean Pate, Mujadara (lentils & rice), White Bean & Kale Soup, Teff Polenta, Azuki Bean Patties w/Szechwan Sauce, Cumin-Scented Orange Black Beans, Creamy Millet Mash, Spelt/Kamut/Barley Combo, Buckwheat Tabouli, Quinoa & Wheatberry Salad, Black Bean Brownies, Blueberry Amaranth Cake, GF Granola

No meat, poultry, fish, eggs, dairy, or honey. $55/person; $100/two people; $50/VSDC, VRG, COK members, students with ID, senior citizens. Demonstration classes include recipes, organic, non-gmo food samples, manufacturers’ samples and coupons. Gift certificates available.

Email veggourmet@aol.com, or call 703.643.2713 for space availability prior to sending payment. Make checks payable to Mimi Clark, 9302 Hallston Ct., Fairfax Station, VA 22039. Sorry, no phone or email reservations. Seventy-two hour cancellation policy for refund or credit. Class subject to cancellation if minimum enrollment is not met.

Coming in October: Meatless Makeovers

 

7 responses to “Beans & Grains, Sunday, September 27, 2015

  1. I thoroughly enjoyed today’s class. The recipes all seemed quite doable, even for a novice like me. I look forward to trying the them at home.

  2. I took my first class with Mimi today on Beans & Grains. Extremely informative and recipe-packed. My favorites were the Creamy Millet Mash – so flavorful and the Molten Lava Black Bean Brownies – so moist! Her passion for plant based cooking and her vegan lifestyle of healthy eating is infectious! I can’t wait to incorporate her recipes into my daily meals and to take more classes!

  3. I really enjoyed today’s class, my first with Mimi. She had obviously worked hard to plan and organize an excellent introduction to cooking with beans and grains. I am hoping to use many of her ideas to incorporate more vegetables in my diet.

  4. Another great class from Mimi. “Carbs” can get a bad rap as being bad for your health and putting extra inches on your waistline, but there are plenty of super grains and beans packed with fiber, protein and minerals to keep you in shape, and most importantly healthy. As always Mimi went into great detail on the importance of these grains in a healthy diet, as well as ways to incorporate them in meals. My favorites were what I call the earthy sweet brownies and millet mash, two things I intend to make myself at home.

  5. Yet another great class from Mimi! I truly look forward to the inspired dishes that she teaches at every class. I find myself thinking about ways to tweak these dishes and love how engaging these classes are. Mimi never hesitates to answer any questions. LOVE IT!!!

  6. This was my 2nd class w/ Mimi! Every class provides a wealth of information and opens my eyes to new products and recipes. I had no idea there are over 2,000 varieties of quinoa. Looking forward to trying out the black bean brownies on my non-vegetarian/vegan friends! Haha! Looking forward to October’s class.

  7. This was also my first class with Mimi. Enjoyed the simple recipes with easy-to-get ingredients. Favorites are the homemade granola and the millet mash (I may try other vegetables with the millet). It was great to be able to see and sample a wide range of products out in the stores, so I won’t feel quite so ignorant when shopping!

Leave a Reply

