Meatless Holidays, Sunday, November 15, 2015

015

Meatless Holidays, Sunday, November 15, 10 a.m. – 1 p.m. Fairfax Station, VA. Start a new Thanksgiving tradition with all the trimmings! Past menus have included some of the following: Dried Cranberry & Pecan-Whipped Yams (pictured above), Buttercup Bisque, Green Bean Casserole, Cranberry Sauce, Seitan-Stuffed Loaf w/Sage Dressing, Fat-free Shiitake Mushroom Gravy, Dairy-free Pumpkin Cheesecake, Pecan Pie, Hot Mulled Cider. Sample Tofurky Roast, Field Roast, Gardein, and more!

No meat, poultry, fish, eggs, dairy, or honey. $55/person; $100/two people; $50/VSDC, VRG, COK members, senior citizens, students with ID. Demonstration classes include recipes, organic, non-gmo food samples, manufacturers’ samples and coupons. Gift certificates available.

Email veggourmet@aol.com, or call 703.643.2713 for space availability prior to sending payment. Make checks payable to Mimi Clark, 9302 Hallston Ct., Fairfax Station, VA 22039. Sorry, no phone or email reservations. Seventy-two hour cancellation policy for refund or credit. Class subject to cancellation if minimum enrollment is not met.

Coming up January 10, 2016: Soups & Stews

10 responses to “Meatless Holidays, Sunday, November 15, 2015

  1. I thought the cranberry, pumpkin pie and yams were terrific. The tofu roast stuffed with the stuffing and accompanying mushroom gravy were by far superior to any of the prepared tofurkey samples that were provided. While I am not a vegetarian/vegan, my daughter asked “will you be making me something good for Thanksgiving?” and with confidence, I can guarantee it.

  2. This was my first exposure to vegan food preparation and was inspired by the variety of dishes we sampled. I enjoyed all tastings – from soup to dessert – and can’t wait to actually do some shopping to do some cooking on my own!

  3. Love the tofu stuffed with dressing. There wasn’t anything that I didn’t like.

  4. I went to this class with my sister, Cheryl, and really enjoyed getting to sample soooo much vegan food – all of it delicious! Also liked knowing about all the different vegan foods that are available at vegan stores I wasn’t aware were even out there. Great source of knowledge.

  5. Melanie McIntyre

    I have to admit, the only cranberry sauce I’ve ever eaten has been out of a can. WOW, the homemade cranberry sauce was amazing and so easy to prepare!! Really enjoyed everything we sampled! Looking forward to the soups and stews class.

  6. It has become a ritual of mine to attend every one of Mimi’s classes. I enjoy them immensely. I love how she instructs the class on how to tweak/enhance recipes and I find my mind racing as to what recipe I will cook first as each one is presented. I am especially eager to recreate her Buttercup Bisque from this class. I had never tasted Buttercup squash before and found myself enamored.

    Can’t wait until the next class in January!!!

  7. I really enjoyed Mimi’s holiday class. I have vegans and vegetarians coming for the Christmas holidays and needed some ideas. I found myself now looking forward to the dinner and shopping at stores I have not visited before to find new products. Now the holiday meals are something I look forward to as I feel I can do it!!

  8. I forgot to mention, I love my new cookbook (one-pot meals)! I’ve already gone through all of the recipes. They appear to be simple to prepare and contain ingredients that I recognize and can pronounce!

  9. This was a very special class which I could feel the holiday spirit in all the food. We learned to prepare a complete holiday meal. My favorite dish was “Seitan Stuffed Tofu with Herb Stuffing” with “Fat-free Mushroom Gravy”. Also, the “Pecan & Cranberry-Studded Yams” was yummy when paired with “Cranberry Sauce”. My other favorite was the “Pumpkin Pie”, which was like a creamy cheesecake for dessert. I plan to make these healthy and delicious recipes not only for holidays, but also for other special events.

  10. This was my second class and, again, I thought it was terrific. I especially like sampling available products so I can figure out just what to buy on my own. For this class, I loved the pumpkin “pie”, the yams, and the cranberry sauce. I made the yams for myself, and brought the millet mash (from the grains and beans class) for a Thanksgiving dinner of non-vegans – it totally disappeared!

Leave a Reply

