Soyfoods 101, Sunday April 23, 2017

April is National Soyfoods Month!IMG_0220

Soyfoods 101, Sunday, April 23, 10 a.m. – 1 p.m. Fairfax Station, VA. Dispel the myths! Learn the health benefits of cooking with soyfood derivatives. Past classes have included some of the following: roasted soy nuts, organic soy milk smoothies, edamame hummus, miso tahini spread, ranch dressing, miso soup, tofu boursin cheese, tempeh medallions in black bean sauce, tempeh salad, tempeh Reuben, TVP meatloaf, marinated baked tofu, tofu nuggets, breaded tofu, soy chili, Thai tofu, sesame tofu bowl, fudgesicles.

No meat, poultry, fish, eggs, dairy, or honey. $55/person; $100/two people; $50/VSDC, VRG, COK members, students and seniors with ID. Demonstration classes include recipes, organic food samples, manufacturers’ samples and coupons. Gift certificates available.

Email veggourmet@aol.com, or call 703.643.2713 for space availability prior to sending payment. Make checks payable to Mimi Clark, 9302 Hallston Ct., Fairfax Station, VA 22039. Sorry, no phone or email reservations. Seventy-two hour cancellation policy for refund or credit. Class subject to cancellation if minimum enrollment is not met. http://www.veggourmet.wordpress.com

Coming May 21: Breakfast & Brunch

7 responses to “Soyfoods 101, Sunday April 23, 2017

  1. This was my first class with Mimi. She truly is a wealth of information! Very educational.

  2. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the Soyfoods 101 class today. The 3-hour class is packed full of instruction, cooking demonstrations, sampling of delicious plant-based foods and Mimi’s patter, all of which make the time seemingly fly by.

  3. This is the second class I took from Mimi and I am looking forward to taking more. I learned a lot about various soy products including that black bean sauce in Chinese food is really black SOY bean sauce. While lots of her savory recipes were good, I am really looking forward to making her Key Lime parfait – and not telling anyone that it is vegan.

    Mimi has an incredible depth of knowledge – including teaching about the pros and cons of various products and where to find them.

  4. Wow, I loved the class, I learned so much and I have no idea how Mimi was able to take TEMPEH and make it take really good. I am going to try some of these recipes for my daughter’s bridal shower in May. Thank you for opening my eyes Mimi. Tina Ceesay

  5. I don’t know what’s in that picture, but I want to make that. I loved learning about soy curls. I’ll definitely be using them. My husband has been vegan over a decade and had never heard of them. I’m vegetarian, and I can tell you the parfait tasted exactly like a dairy parfait. Some parts of the class were hard to follow, but I still walked away with some great tips and ideas. Thank you!

  6. This was one of my favorite classes! Mimi presented a lot of helpful information about the health benefits of soyfoods, and techniques for cooking with tempeh, miso, and tofu. We got 5 recipes for marinating tofu. The miso soup was quick and not too salty. The tempeh salad reminded me of the Eggless Salad we learned in the Salads class. We were introduced to Soy Curls in Black Bean Sauce which was delicious! No one would ever know that the Key Lime Yogurt Parfait had tofu in it! I can’t wait to learn how to make my own vegan yogurt in the Breakfast & Brunch class next month!

  7. I thoroughly enjoyed this class and left enthused about cooking with tofu. I am not vegan, but thanks to Mimi’s classes I am incorporating more vegan products into my cooking, particularly vegan cheeses. And now, one week after the Soyfoods 101 class, I have cooked most of the dishes Mimi demo’d in the class. I am feeling healthier and more alert throughout the day; not to mention, adventurous and excited about cooking! I really appreciate these opportunities to learn about vegan cooking…thanks Mimi!

Leave a Reply

