Spectacular Salads July 9, 2017

salads class 021

Spectacular Salads, Sunday, July 9, 10 a.m. – 1 p.m. Fairfax Station, VA. Main course, whole grain and bean salads suitable for pot lucks, picnics, and indoor/outdoor grilling. Past classes have included some of the following: Homemade Mayo, Mediterranean Pasta Salad w/ Homemade Feta Cheese, Two-Grain Sesame Salad, Quinoa Tabouli, Black Bean Fiesta Salad, Zesty Three-Bean Salad, Pineapple Chicken-Free Salad (pictured), Oil-Free Sweet Bulgar Salad, Teriyaki Kebabs, Marinated Grilled Vegetables, Rice Paper Spring Rolls, Dilled Potato Salad, Eggless Egg Salad, Caesar Salad, Cole Slaw, Kim Chee, Organic Lemonade, salad dressings, Chocolate Chip Snackin’ Cake, Brownies.

No meat, poultry, fish, eggs, dairy, or honey. $55/person; $100/two people; $50/VSDC, VRG, COK members, students and seniors with ID.  Demonstration classes include recipes, organic, non-gmo food samples, manufacturers’ samples and coupons. Gift certificates available.

Email veggourmet@aol.com, or call 703.643.2713 for space availability prior to sending payment. Make checks payable to Mimi Clark, 9302 Hallston Ct., Fairfax Station, VA 22039. Sorry, no phone or email reservations. Seventy-two hour cancellation policy for refund or credit. Class subject to cancellation if minimum enrollment is not met. http://www.veggourmet.wordpress.com

Coming in September: Beans & Grains

6 responses to “Spectacular Salads July 9, 2017

  1. This class was awesome! I love tuna fish and the chicken salad was spectacular along with the samples and coupons unreal way to spend Sunday.
    Mimi, thank you not only for teaching us great recipes, but also teaching the healthy aspects and nutritional benefits of VEGANISM.

  2. Julia Knitzer

    Loved this class!! Very informative. Mimi is very knowledgeable and is a great teacher!! I loved learning about new products such as Bee Free Honee. It tastes amazing and I will be using it as my go-to sweetener from now on. Learned that one jar saves 7500 bees – wow, who knew? I look forward to the next class!

  3. Mimi’s class was amazing! Great presentation, tasty recipes (my favorites were definitely the tuna salad and curry chicken salad) and interesting cooking techniques. I am so happy I was able to join Mimi last Sunday. I had so much fun and learned a lot! Thank you!

  4. WOW! Mimi has immense knowledge. The presentation was very informative. I learned so much i.e. what tofu firmness is better used in which application, non dairy substitutions, my fav save your bean water for your plants!!! Not sure why I didn’t think of that. It’s a no brainer. I’ve talked to several veganists about changing my lifestyle. When I tell them my “current” goal is to be a flexatarian (less meat in my diet) they are appalled and stop all communication. NOT Mimi. She understood and most of all respected my choice of NOT transitioning cold turkey. She’s aware the info given can be overwhelming for most and is good about following-up and making herself available for questions and guidance. This is highly appreciated because this journey can be frightening.

    The only wish – PLEASE do a hands on class. I WILL attend future classes even if not hands on. The information is just to good to pass up!!

  5. Spectacular Salads was a spectacular class! The salads that Mimi made were delicious and are wonderful to bring to family BBQs or office Potlucks. I have already made the Black Bean and Quinoa Fiesta Salad as well as the Mediterranean Pasta Salad. The nice thing about these salads is that they do not contain any oil so there is no added fat. I also loved the samples we tried from the manufacturers. The Bee Free Honee was wonderful on Mimi’s homemade unsweetened yogurt! I am also using it to make a fruit salad, and plan to use it in a Sweet Mustard sauce.

  6. Hermenia A Cooper (Mena)

    Thank you so much Mimi for the spectacular class because I love eating salads. I now have a healthier way of eating salads. I enjoyed your class and meeting new people to network with. I am interested in easy ways to change my eating habits, but I am not there yet with going total vegan. I love all the recipes that you shared in class and I will try them all. I LOVE YOUR spirit!!!

Leave a Reply

